Master Builder of the Year | National 2016, 2019 | Victoria 2016, 2017, 2019
NEWS | Australian Capital Territory

Two Kane projects finalists in three categories for this year’s MBA Awards in Canberra

19th July, 2022

On the back of a great win for our $30m Stromlo Leisure Centre at last year’s Master Builders Australian Capital Territory ACT awards, this year, two of Kane’s Canberra projects, the Department of Defence Duntroon Joint Health Command and the Queanbeyan Police Station, are finalists in three categories.

Both new builds within their own unique secure environments, the projects are finalists for the Commercial Construction $20 million to $50 million category, and Queanbeyan Police Station is also a finalist for a Project Displaying Technical Difficulty or Innovation.

The Duntroon Joint Health Command (JHC) project is a medical centre that is the primary healthcare location for Australian Defence Force members in the ACT. Services include primary care, mental health services, rehabilitation, pharmacy, physiotherapy and dental services. The JHC has a hydrotherapy pool, inpatient units, rehabilitation units, car park, gym, and offices.

The Queanbeyan Police Station (QPS) is a fit-for-purpose police station, with basement car parking and three above-ground levels, and a new substation. This state-of-the-art precinct demonstrates a new precedent in police station design and functionality. Challenged by access constraints and security requirements of a live policing building, this iconic building stands proudly at the entrance to the Queanbeyan CBD. The façade is clad in rotated louvres, referencing the local aboriginal heritage.

“Delivering these time-critical projects in secure environments required a commitment to quality and care.” says ACT General Manager Jo Farrell.

“The team handed over both projects in stages enabling the Department of Defence and the NSW Police to continue business operations with minimal disruption. I am proud of our project teams and what they have accomplished.”

The awards night is being held on Friday 9 September. We wish the team the best of luck with the upcoming awards.